Toyota Family Teacher of the Year

For 28 years, NCFL and Toyota have partnered to recognize educators from across the nation who use a strong multi-generational approach to learning and focus on building effective family-school partnerships that support student achievement and school improvement. Since 1997, Toyota Family Teacher of the Year winners, runners-up, and their respective organizations have received $700,000 and funded 56 innovative teacher-led projects.

2024 Nominations Closed

Nominations for the 2024 Toyota Family Teacher of the Year are closed.

Join us at the 2024 Families Learning Conference in Louisville, Kentucky to learn which educator has been selected as the 2024 Toyota Family Teacher of the Year. The winning educator will receive a $20,000 grant to further their ongoing family engagement efforts. One runner-up will also receive $5,000.

Explore the power of family engagement to impact student success

Learn more about 2023 winner Sergio de Alba in this interview with NCFL President and CEO Dr. Felicia Cumings Smith

Past Winners

Visit our YouTube page to explore the stories of past Toyota Family Teacher of the Year awardees.

  • 2022
    Ivonne Ortiz
    Mesa Public Schools
    Mesa, AZ
  • 2021
    Manoucheka Dolcine
    Dave Thomas Education Center
    Coconut Creek, FL
  • 2020
    Leila Kubesch
    Norwood Middle School
    Norwood, OH
  • 2019
    Colleen Ryan
    The Passage
    Chattanooga, TN
  • 2018
    Beth Detwiler
    Oakland Unified School District
    Oakland, CA
  • 2017
    Mary Andrews
    Chapel-Hill-Carrboro Public School Foundation
    Chapel Hill, NC
  • 2016
    Jean Ciborowski Fahey
    South Shore Hospital Reading Partnership
    Weymouth, MA
  • 2015
    Kristen Whitaker
    Columbia Heights Ed. Campus
    Washington, DC
  • 2014
    Elizabeth Atack
    Nashville Public Library
    Nashville, TN
  • 2013
    Carolyn Blocker
    Long Beach Family Literacy
    Long Beach, CA
  • 2012
    Shari M. Brown
    Caldwell County Family Literacy,
    Lenoir, NC
  • 2011
    Patricia Urdialez
    Mesa City Schools
    Mesa, AZ
  • 2010
    Kay Brown
    Union Parrish Family Literacy
    Bernice, LA
  • 2009
    Maria Piñon
    All Aboard Family Literacy,
    Miami, FL
  • 2008
    Kay Kibbey
    Wayne Metro Family Literacy
    Bernice, LA
  • 2007
    Gretchen Conway
    Caldwell County Elementary School
    Lenoir, NC
  • 2006
    Mark Faloni
    Bancroft Elementary School
    Washington, DC
  • 2005
    Amy Hall,
    Hannahville FACE Program
    Hannahville, MI
  • 2004
    Lorie Preheim
    Mary’s Center,
    Washington, DC
  • 2003
    Joellyn ‘Jody’ Lintzenich
    Haywood Elementary School
    Nashville, TN
  • 2002
    Gwendolyn Paul
    Blackwater FACE
    Coolidge, AZ
  • 2001
    Cecilia Ramirez
    Summit View Elementary
    Tucson, AZ
  • 2000
    Sharon McMarr
    San Pedro/Narbonne Community Adult School
    Los Angeles, CA
  • 1999
    Dayle Bailey
    Richmond County Elementary School
    Rockingham, NC
  • 1998
    Anita Koch
    Glades Tri-City Even Start
    Belle Glade, FL
  • 1997
    Karen Kilma-Thomas
    Mesa Family Tree Project
    Mesa, AZ